Monday, March 30, 2015

30th Araw ng Kagitingan relay run

THE oldest and longest relay run saluting World War II Bataan Heroes will hit the road this coming April 8 and 9, 2015 for its 30th edition.

According to founding organizer Ed Paez, the relay-run will retrace the infamous 1942 Death March trail. 

No registration fee will be collected in this non-competitive relay run, the first edition of which was supported by late Pampanga Gov. Bren Z. Guiao.
The annual race, cited by the Philippine Sportswriters Association (PSA) 2011 and by the Sports Communicators Organization of the Philippines (SCOOP) in 1993, 1995 and 1997, will start at the Death March Kilometer Post 0 Marker in Mariveles, Bataan and will pass Limay,Orion, Pilar, Balanga City, Abucay, Samal, Orani, a part of Dinalupihan where the runners will stay overnight before proceeding to the City of San Fernando via Guagua and Bacolor the next day for the finish line of the 102-kilometer route. 

Supporters of the two-day relay run are MILO, UNILAB Active Health, PAMPANGA'S BEST, PAGCOR, ALICE Bakery & Grocery, BFAR Gitnang Luzon, Isport BOTAK, EXCELENT Noodles, F.M. RINGOR Engineering / AdEvents, MAYO Production and  Inc., E-Ventologist Co.

SAFER RUNNERS will again spearhead the relay run with runners from the Philippine Army - Special Services Unit, TRADOC - Camp O'Donnell, Sta. Rosa City Runners, Caloocan North Running Club, Runners Plus, Team Tarlac City, Baywalk RC, Rotary International Dist. 3810 joining the "annual vow" of paying tribute of our War Heroes.

Olympians Mona Sulaiman, Orly Bauzon, SEA Games gold medalist Lorrie Bauzon, PAGCOR's Carolino Gonzales, MILO Marathon national champions Rey Antoque, Jona Gayumba, Bernardo Desamito, Jr., Cris Sabal, Jho-an Banayag, World Ice Skating champs Ian Cruz & Susie Quibol, 1st Pinoy Global runner & ultra-runner Cesar Guarin have in the past joined the "march".

For more information contact Paez at 02-448-5229; 0915-4711443; 0949-9499004; and through email at 

No comments:

Post a Comment